DIY Sentimental/Personal Christmas Gift Ideas for Friends & Family | Blogmas 2015. [Day 6] ❄️

Sometimes, you can’t afford to spend a huge amount of money for somebody’s gift. You want to, but you can’t! Or, better yet, you feel like you just want something a bit more personal and special for your friend/family member/significant other.

Well, I gotcha!

I love gifts like these, gifts where you can see that a lot of thought and preparation went into making them – it’s the best feeling in the world receiving one of those.

Some of these I actually saw/got, but some I just think would be so cute and thoughtful and… yeah, let’s get started!


1) Memory Booklet

I actually received one of these for my birthday about a month ago and it was included in my November favourites. (and a lot of you seem to liked it as well) It’s still one of my favourite presents I’ve ever received.

blogmas 2015, day 6 - DIY sentimental personal christmas gift ideas for friends, family and boyfriend or girlfriend - memory booklet - artsy, tumblr, pinterest love

blogmas 2015, day 6 - DIY sentimental personal christmas gift ideas for friends, family and boyfriend or girlfriend - memory booklet - artsy, tumblr, pinterest

Basically, what you’ll need is:

  • Photos of you and the person of choice (IF you’re not the only one who’s involved in the present, make sure to include group photos as well, ideally both group and one-on-one photos, about 10 – 20 of them)
  • A photo editor
  • Markers
  • String
  • A hole-puncher

STEP 1:

Edit the photos of you and your friend/family member(s) to make them look like Polaroids. (Skip this step if you have actual Polaroids, haha)

STEP 2:

Print them out. (on greasy paper, preferably)

STEP 3:

Punch out the holes on the side with the white border.

STEP 4:

Write lovely messages on the back of each photo. If more people are involved, let everyone write what they want.

STEP 5 (Final Step)

Use the ‘rope’/ribbon to tie all of the photos together and Bob’s your uncle – you’re done!

blogmas 2015, day 6 - DIY sentimental personal christmas gift ideas for friends, family and boyfriend or girlfriend - memory booklet - artsy, tumblr, pinterest friends

2) Frame Collage

This is pretty simple – all you’ll need is a frame that holds around 5 – 10 photos. (click here or here to check out two differernt frames I found)

blogmas 2015, day 6 - DIY sentimental personal christmas gift ideas for friends, family and boyfriend or girlfriend - frame collages for friends artsy, tumblr, pinterestblogmas 2015, day 6 - DIY sentimental personal christmas gift ideas for friends, family and boyfriend or girlfriend - friends collage frame - artsy, tumblr, pinterest

Next up, find your favourite 5 photos with that person and print them out. (be sure to check the size of the photos the frame holds)

And, boom! You’re done!

blogmas 2015, day 6 - DIY sentimental personal christmas gift ideas for friends, family and boyfriend or girlfriend - frame collage - artsy, tumblr, pinterest love

3) A Photo In A Snow Globe

Yay, so seasonal!

Okay, so this is the easiest one of them all – you’ll just need to get a snow globe that holds photos. Your local copy shop/the shop where you get your photos developed or printed should have plenty of those, but, if you prefer internet shopping, I’ve found some, so click here.

blogmas 2015, day 6 - DIY sentimental personal christmas gift ideas for friends, family and boyfriend or girlfriend -snowglobe photo - artsy, tumblr, pinterestblogmas 2015, day 6 - DIY sentimental personal christmas gift ideas for friends, family and boyfriend or girlfriend - snowglobe photo frame - artsy, tumblr, pinterest

4) Feel-Better Letter(s)

This is something that I’ve seen everywhere, but I think it’s just so interesting and just adorable.

blogmas 2015, day 6 - DIY sentimental personal christmas gift ideas for friends, family and boyfriend or girlfriend - open when.. letters - artsy, tumblr, pinterest love

So, you’ll need:

  • 5 – 10 envelopes in different colours.
  • The same number of papers.
  • Sharpies/pens

OPTIONAL BITS (to decorate as much as your heart desires)

  • ribbon
  • glitter
  • blue

What you want to do is write some of the following messages on the envelopes.

(examples)

Open when….

– … you receive this gift. (the first envelope)

– … you need some motivation/feel like quitting.

– … you’re feeling sad.

– … you’re feeling lonely.

– … you’re feeling hurt.

– … you’re feeling down.

– … you need a pep talk.

– … we get into a fight/I have frustrated you.

– … you need a good laugh.

– … you’re very bored.

– … you think your dream will never come true.

– … you miss me.

– … nothing is going your way.

– … it’s your birthday.

– … you feel like a failure.

– … you have no more envelopes to open. (which should be the last one)

(If it’s a significant other, be sure to make at least a ‘Open when it’s our anniversary’ envelope)

blogmas 2015, day 6 - DIY sentimental personal christmas gift ideas for friends, family and boyfriend or girlfriend - open when.. letters - artsy, tumblr, pinterest blurblogmas 2015, day 6 - DIY sentimental personal christmas gift ideas for friends, family and boyfriend or girlfriend - open when... letters - artsy,tumblr, pinterest pileblogmas 2015, day 6 - DIY sentimental personal christmas gift ideas for friends, family and boyfriend or girlfriend - open when.. letters - artsy, tumblr, pinterest listblogmas 2015, day 6 - DIY sentimental personal christmas gift ideas for friends, family and boyfriend or girlfriend -open when.. letters - artsy, tumblr, pinterest tilesblogmas 2015, day 6 - DIY sentimental personal christmas gift ideas for friends, family and boyfriend or girlfriend - open when... letters - artsy,tumblr,pinterest cuteblogmas 2015, day 6 - DIY sentimental personal christmas gift ideas for friends, family and boyfriend or girlfriend - open when... letters - artsy, tumblr, pinterest

And then, write a letter to fit into the correct envelope. Also, for bonus points feel free to include photos as well! (inside jokes, motivational quotes, things you know would make the other person laugh, etc.)

blogmas 2015, day 6 - DIY sentimental personal gift ideas for friends, family and boyfriend or girlfriend - open when... letters - artsy, tumblr, pinterest

… and voila! 😀


And that’s all for today!

What did you think of these gift ideas? What would you say if you got any of these from a loved one? OR do you have any more ideas?

I hope you enjoyed this post and that you might’ve gotten a bit of inspiration/an idea for a gift. I know there’s only 4 ideas, but this post is already quite long, so I wouldn’t want you getting bored. If you’d like a part 2, though, do let me know!

Thank you so much for reading!

Hope you’re having a wonderful day and hurry down the chimney tonight. 😉

~ Dora

xx


❄️

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Karen Rees says:

    Awwwh these are gorgeous ideas Dora – I love the envelopes!!! I think I might have to give that one a go, I’m so sentimental when it comes to little things like that. Love a thoughtful gift 🙂 Karen XXXX

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      I’m sososo glad you like them, Karen! 😊
      Ohhh, you totally should! 😀
      Me too, I’m just a sucker for those – it’s a shame that more people aren’t, though.

      Hope you have a wonderful day!

      xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Karen Rees says:

        Absolutely LOVE them huni – gorgeous!!!!! Wishing you a fab week ahead lovely ❤ XXXXX

        Liked by 1 person

  2. These are all such nice gifts! I would love to get any of these! I made my boyfriend a count down to valentines thing which had 14 cards and each one had a reason why I love him. I think these sort of gifts are so nice to get but also really nice to give! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      So glad you like them! 😀
      Oh my gosh, that’s the most adorable thing ever! 😊
      I agree completely, there’s a certain anticipation level and a bit of curiosity when it comes to giving these kinds of presents, ‘Will they like it?’ ‘What will they say?’, but in the end, this person must mean a lot to you (to put such an effort into a gift) and in that case, they’re bound to love it. 😉
      (did that make sense? haha!)

      Thank you so much for reading!
      Hope you have a lovely day. 😊

      xx

      Like

      1. Total sense and I’m in complete agreement! P.S. Loving Blogmas! Xx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Dora says:

        Yay!! 😀

        Oh, thank you so much! I mean, it’s probably awful that I’m accepting that compliment after skipping 2 days, but I was just feeling so poorly that I couldn’t seem to get myself near a computer… 😦

        xx

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh no! I hope you’re feeling better – it’s a lot tougher than I ever expected to actually keep up with posting every single day! I think the key is preplanning and scheduling! (Not that I’ve done a lot of that…) xx

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Dora says:

        I am, thank you very much!
        I know! And what actually bummed me out was that I started all the planning way back in late September – early October… So it just felt like a waste… 😦
        But oh well, good luck with the rest of Blogmas! 😊

        xx

        Liked by 1 person

  3. What a lovely idea the envelopes are!!! I loved reading this post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Thank you so much, I’m so glad you liked the ideas and the post in general! 😊

      Have a wonderful day! 🙂

      xx

      Like

  4. I love personal gifts…that is the best thing to get. I will definitely do the letters for my boyfriend💝
    http://www.laurarebeccajonas.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Oh, I’m so glad there’s more people who feel that way, haha!

      YAY, that’s adorable, I know he’ll love it. 😊

      Have a lovely day!

      xx

      Liked by 1 person

  5. these are so cute !! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Thank you, really glad you like the ideas! 😊

      Hope you have a wonderful day. 🙂

      xx

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh my gosh Dora! These are sooooooo cute and have such wonderful sentimental value. I absolutely LOVE the feel better letters! Such a unique and perfect gift… I don’t think even the most materialistic of things can quite compare. Thank you so much for sharing these phenomenal gift ideas! Looking forward to your other BLOGMAS posts of course 😉

    Xo. http://www.sonamnaiducreative.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Ohh, thank you soso much! 😀
      I’m so glad/relieved that you like them! 😊
      Ahhhh, well said, my friend, well said! (I completely agree!)

      Oh my gosh, thank YOU for taking the time to read and leave such a wonderful comment! 😊😊

      Heehee, thanks, there’ll be more coming, I just had to skip these past 2 days, as I caught a cold and have been feeling quite poorly… 😦

      (Just had to throw that out there!)
      Thank you so much for your continuous support (it means the world!) and I hope you have a wonderful day! 😊

      xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

