Gotta Love: Maybelline Great Lash Mascara

on

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara - Very Black - gotta love, review

Heya! 🙂

Today, I have another ‘Gotta Love’ post for you! I really like writing these posts and I feel like I don’t do them enough. So here’s another one! * yaaaay *

The product that I’ll be presenting to you is the Great Lash Mascara by Maybelline. Now, apparently, this is a classic, which I didn’t know. *gasp* I haven’t really seen or heard a lot about it and when I saw it in store I thought it looked way too ‘primitive’.

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara - Very Black, decorative shot, pastel cups, tumblr

I remember one day, a friend of mine appeared in school and her lashes looked incredible! When I asked her which mascara she used, I honestly expected to hear ‘Better Than Sex’ or ‘Roller Lash’. Needless to say that I was more than surprised when she showed me the tiny Great Lash.

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara - Very Black, decorative shot, pastel cup, tumblr, everyday mascara, packaging, review, bblogger

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara - Very Black, decorative shot, pastel cups, tumblr, everyday mascara

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara - Very Black, decorative shot, pastel cup, tumblr, everyday mascara, packaging, review


The brush is made of fibers and it’s so small, which I love. It’s super easy to apply and the size helps with ‘lash separation’.

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara - Very Black - brush, everyday mascara, review

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara - Very Black, decorative shot, pastel cup, tumblr, everyday mascara, packaging, review, bblogger, brush and opened packaging

I do recommend ‘wiping’ it before usage. (at the ‘walls’ of the tube) Just to make sure it won’t clump your lashes and that you won’t get way too much product on.

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara - Very Black, decorative shot, pastel cup, tumblr, everyday mascara, packaging, review, flowers, bblogger

The formula is great, honestly, I don’t think there was a day where it smudged underneath my eyes! Woo!

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara - Very Black - shade - everyday mascara, decorative, pastel cups, tumblr

The effect: Now, if you’re looking for something volumizing, lengthening and dramatic, this mascara may not be for you. You can achieve a very pretty, natural look with it -‘your eye(lashe)s but better’. It’s a great ‘base mascara’, though, and that’s what I usually do – I layer another mascara on top. 🙂

(There’s a clear version of it, as well!)

Bare eyes:

nothing on, effects, with filter

nothing on, effects, with filter, closed eyes

One coat:

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara - Very Black - one coat - everyday mascara

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara - Very Black - one coat - everyday mascara - closed eyes

Two coats:

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara - Very Black - two coat - everyday mascara

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara - Very Black - two coats - everyday mascara - closed eye

Two coats + another mascara:

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara - Very Black - two coats + Essence Get Big Lashes (one coat)

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara - Very Black - two coats + Essence Get Big Lashes (one coat) - closed eyes


Rating:

Formula? 8/10

Brush? 9/10

Effect? – Natural; 10/10

I really like the effect – it’s a phenomenal everyday mascara! Just great! (heh, heh, ba-dum-tsss)

Packaging? 10/10

I just love the fact that the tube’s so small – it fits everywhere!

Lasting? 9/10

From my experience, it lasts a long time. It never smudged, not even once! So I’m pretty happy with that. 🙂

Clumpy-ness? 8/10

It can be a bit clumpy if you don’t wipe excess product off.

Overall? 8/10

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara - Very Black - decorative shot, tumblr, everyday mascara, pastel cups, review, bblogger


If you’re interested in purchasing this mascara, click your prefered store.

(another great thing – it’s only £5!)

Superdrug

Boots

Ulta (waterproof)


Find Maybelline here:

website

Twitter – @Maybelline

Instagram – @Maybelline


Maybelline Great Lash Mascara - Very Black - decorative shot, tumblr, everyday mascara, pastel cups, review, bblogger, packaging


And that’s it! I hope you enjoyed this post. 🙂

Have you ever tried this mascara? What’s your favorite drugstore mascara? 🙂

Thank you so much for reading!

Have a lovely day! 🙂

~ Dora

xx

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Karen Rees says:

    Brilliant review Dora!!! Really thorough and the photos are beautiful huni 🙂 I have to say though I’ve tried this mascara a few times and unfortunately it’s done nothing at all for my lashes 😦 Very frustrating as it seems to be a staple for others!! Awesome post – glad it worked out for you lovely ❤ Karen xo

    Like

    1. Dora says:

      Thank you so much, Karen!
      Oh, that’s unfortunate! 😦 Yeah, I’ve heard either people saying it’s incredible or that it doesn’t work. It was so scary, like there was no middle ground haha!
      But hey, at least you know what doesn’t work, which is also important. 😀

      Thanks again! 🙂 ❤

      xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Karen Rees says:

        So welcome huni!! Yeah I think I’m one of the unlucky ones unfortunately 😦 Very annoying!! Like you say, there’s no grey areas with it lol Very true – just a matter of trying new things til a winner is found 😀 Xo

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I must first compliment you on your amazing photography skills! LOVE the tea cups and how you played with the illusion of color to complement the packaging of the lipstick. You genius you haha 😉 I have tried this mascara and I completely agree with you on the overall effect; makes a great everyday mascara without having to spend an arm and leg. Great review lovely!

    Xo. http://www.sonamnaiducreative.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Why, thank you so much! 🙂
      I’m so glad you liked my photos. ^^

      And ‘yay’ for the Great Lash! 😀
      Glad we’re on the same page, hehe 😀

      xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

