How I Style It: Bridesmaid Dress

from bridesmaid to summer date night ready, weddington way

Hello everybody! 😀

Have you ever bought a dress and used it for one night only? I’m pretty sure we all have our old prom dresses in the back of our closets, not being used for anything except dust-collecting. Well, today, I’m going to tackle a problem of that sort and re-style a bridesmaid dress to fit a summer date-night look!


THE OUTFIT

The dress that I’m going to be using as an example is from Weddington Way. They have such beautiful designes and all the colours you could possibly imagine! This one is a lovely shade of blue, with a V-neck. I love the length, too, and the fact that it has an A-line skirt makes it even more appealing to me.

dm-53183sxe-blue-green-front

The way I’d style this dress is quite ‘simple’, but I do think it looks good. 🙂

For the shoes, I’d go for a baby pink heeled sandal. I really like this one from ASOS.

neutral shoes

legs

It’s an old rule that the clutch should always match the shoes, so I found this beautiful ‘Missguided’ nude clutch – I just love the size for the look that I envisioned. Anything big and bulky just wouldn’t go with this look, as it’s quite gentle and ‘soft’.

nude clutch - $40

Also, in all honesty, I think that I’d most definitely bring a cardigan with me, just in case it gets colder. What can I say, I like to be prepared!

cardigan - finalcardigans

HAIR & JEWELRY

 I really love spanish buns (low buns) and what I would do is curl my hair or use those ‘hair worms’ and create some loose, almost beachy waves. (adding sea salt spray is only a bonus) Then, I’d make the bun and pull out the front two pieces, as I find it really frames the face well.

taylor-swift-curly-wavy-bun

I wouldn’t go crazy on the jewelry – this simple V necklace and these dangling earrings and voila!

nekclace

earrings

MAKEUP

On the eyes, I’d just make them pop by doing a neutral (almost pink-ish) smokey eye – some baby pink (W.O.S. – Naked Basics) on the lid, a lighter brown (Naked 2 – NB) in the crease as a blending shade and smoking out the upper right corner of the eye with a dark brown (Coffee Bean – Too Faced Matte Eye) or black (NB).

I quite like lining my upper lash line and maybe winging it out too, as it ties the whole look together. 🙂 Also, mascara is a must for me – without it my lashes feel naked.

makeup

smokey-eye-makeup-pink-color

I’d add a bit of soft rosy blusher, too, for that naturally blushed look.

Finally, lips! I’d use a bright lip, give it a little pop of colour, to make it stand out. I quite like the Maybelline Color Sensational – Vivid in the shade Vivid Rose – it’s a very pretty not-as-intense-as-usual fuchsia colour. It adds life to the entire look and this colour fits so well with the colour of the dress!

lips

vivid-rose_pack-shot

NAILS:

For this part, I just picked a nude colour. I really like the Essie – Wrap Me Up and OPI – Otherwise Engaged. I really like the way they fit in the whole outfit. 🙂

essie-cashmere-004- wrap me up

opi-otherwise-engaged-15-ml-nl-h33-G9dKGP

And that’s the outfit! 🙂


Check out Weddington Way:

Twitter – @WeddingtonWay

Weddington Way

Facebook Page


I’m actually pretty happy with the way it turned out. 🙂

What do you think? Tell me in the comment section!

I hope you enjoyed reading this post and I’ll see you soon. 😀

Bye!

~ Dora

xx


** if you’re interested in any of the products mentioned, just click the photo and it’ll take you to the website. 🙂 **

8 Comments Add yours

  1. beautynoobie says:

    omg… yasss this is life! you created such an amazing look. i have the most horrible experience being a bridesmaid to my bf’s sister. she picked like this ivory dress resembles her wedding dress and it was strapless. i hate strapless! her wedding dress is strapless so it looks exactly like her wedding dress but in a short version. The makeup was nothing. Seriously i didn’t feel like they did anything to my face at all. no contouring no nothing. i’m like.. you paid for this???? I love the hair tho…the hair was the best part out of the whole experience. But, you should’ve been there to be her consultant! 🙂 I’d hire you 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Awww! What a genuinley nice comment! 🙂
      Thank you so much! 😀

      Oh wow, really? That does sound quite horrible… 😮 Thanks for sharing your story! And I hate strapless, too! Especially for those big, important days, as I always feel like it’s going to slip! Terrible anxiety!

      Thank you sososoo much, again! I am glad you liked this little look I put together. 😀

      Have a wonderful day!
      xx

      Like

  2. Love ❤️❤️😍!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Yay!! 😀 So glad you liked it!

      xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Karen Rees says:

    What a gorgeous selection of products Dora – you created a gorgeous look with this lot! Love the post 🙂 Karen xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Thank you so much!! 😀
      I’m so glad you liked it!

      xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What a fun, original and rational post idea! I love the soft, beautiful and very fit for a wedding outfit you have created. Your take on color blocking is amazing; I really adore how you matched nudes and soft baby pinks to such a brilliant blue. Great post lovely.

    Xo. http://www.sonamnaiducreative.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Thank you so much! 😀

      I am so glad you liked it! 🙂

      xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

