How I Style A Plain Dress

on

Hello there, everyone! 🙂

I’ve been wearing this plain gray A-line dress from H&M a lot recently (since the weather has been getting nicer and nicer) and I’ve noticed there’s a few ways that I style it, so I thought I’d share them with the internet.

the dress
the dress

Click here or here if you’re interested in a similar dress, since I couldn’t find the exact one.

This dress is perfect for layering. Also, with a plain dress, you need a pop of color somewhere so all of these outfit combinations will contain a colorful item of clothing.

( Since I couldn’t find the exact items online, I found similar ones, so just click the item you’d like to check out. 🙂 )


1. Plain Long Sweater + A Colorful Scarf

It has been quite windy and chilly recently, so I found myself doing this combo a lot. It keeps you warm and is super easy. (Also, I have a lot of scarfs – colorful, plain, thick, thin, silky, woolen… You name it!)

How I Style A Plain Dress - Outfit 1 - A Colorful Scarf and Long Cardigan

How I Style A Plain Dress - Outfit 1 - A Colorful Scarf and Long Cardigan - Floral Scarf, Long Cardigan and Plain Gray Dress Closeup

How I Style A Plain Dress - Outfit 1 - A Colorful Scarf and Long Cardigan - Floral Scarf Closeup

How I Style A Plain Dress - Outfit 1 - A Colorful Scarf and Long Cardigan - Maroon Cardigan Sleeve Closeup

How I Style A Plain Dress - Outfit 1 - A Colorful Scarf and Long Cardigan - Monsoon Long Cardigan and H&M Plain Gray Dress

How I Style A Plain Dress - Outfit 1 - A Colorful Scarf and Long Cardigan - Floral Scarf and Long Cardigan Closeup

Long Cardigan – Monsoon

Scarf – India Shop

– a pricier version here

2. Pea Coat + Colorful Scarf (again) + Ancle Boots (+ pastel color cardigan underneath)

Pretty sure this is the most sophisticated look. I think the pea coat gives it that classy look. The ‘pastel’ (in this case lime green/yellow) sweater just goes really well with the navy coat and boots and the scarf and its patterns breaks the monotone ‘single color’ scheme that’s going on right there.

How I Style A Plain Dress - Outfit 2 - A Colorful Scarf, Pastel Cardigan, Pea Coat and Ancle Boots

How I Style A Plain Dress - Outfit 2 - A Colorful Scarf, Pastel Cardigan, Pea Coat and Ancle Boots - Pastel Sweater - S.Oliver, Plain Gray Dress - Closeup

How I Style A Plain Dress - Outfit 2 - A Colorful Scarf, Pastel Cardigan and Ancle Boots - Navy Ancle Boots

How I Style A Plain Dress - Outfit 2 - A Colorful Scarf, Pastel Cardigan, Pea Coat and Ancle Boots - Pastel Sweater - S.Oliver, Plain Gray Dress - H&M Basic

How I Style A Plain Dress - Outfit 2 - A Colorful Scarf, Pastel Cardigan, Pea Coat and Ancle Boots - Pea Coat - GDM - Grain De Malice

Pea Coat – GDM

– another alternative here

Pastel Cardigan – S. Oliver

alternativeee

Scarf – probably an India Shop (again)

3. All Stars + A Hoodie (+ Leggings)

This is the most chill look out of the bunch. Pretty sporty and casual. When you don’t feel like dressing up, but you still want to wear a dress.

How I Style A Plain Dress - Outfit 3 - A Hoodie And Converese (All Stars)

How I Style A Plain Dress - Outfit 3 - A Hoodie And Converese (All Stars) - Striped Hoodie - Okaidi

How I Style A Plain Dress - Outfit 3 - A Hoodie And Converese (All Stars) - Beige Converse All Stars

How I Style A Plain Dress - Outfit 3 - A Hoodie And Converese (All Stars) - Striped Hoodie and Gray Dress Closeup

Hoodie – Okaidi

All Stars – Coverse (duh!)

4. Bright Cardigan + Bright Ballet Flats

This is a more spring-y look, I’d say. The bright pink really brakes the monotone gray (without a crazy pattern) and also looks really nice, I reckon. 🙂

I’ve paired this with a beige trench coat, which is really light and ties this whole look together. (at least in my opinion)

How I Style A Plain Dress - Outfit 4 - A Bright Cardigan And Bright Flats

How I Style A Plain Dress - Outfit 4 - A Bright Cardigan And Bright Flats - Bright Pink Ballet Flats - Puma

How I Style A Plain Dress - Outfit 4 - A Bright Cardigan And Bright Flats - Bright Cardigan from H&M

How I Style A Plain Dress - Outfit 4 - A Bright Cardigan And Bright Flats - Gray Dress, Bright Pink Cardigan and Beige Trench Coat Closeup

Screaming Pink Cardigan – H&M Kids (I think)

Ballet Flats – Puma

alternative

Trench coat – GDM

The scarf that’d look wonderful with this outfit:

~ link ~

BONUS: Leggings With A Print

Now, I don’t exactly own crazy printed leggings, but if I did, you bet that I’d be wearing them with this dress. Sometimes it’s chilly, so instead of freezing your legs, you can put on a pair of leggings and call it a day.

The leggings I’d wear with this dress would most likely be:

Checkerd Leggings

Checkerd Leggings, Boohoo

Floral Leggings, BooHoo

– photos taken from websites –


And there you have it, folks!

How do you style a plain dress? Tell me in the comments below, so we can bond over plain dresses and how we wear them. 😀

I hope you enjoyed this post. Hopefully, it helped somebody out there. If not, at least it was semi-entertaining reading a ‘fashion tips for a non-fashionista’ post. 😀

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you again soon.

Bye,

~ Dora

xx

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sarah says:

    Love these ideas. I actually have a plain grey dress/tunic, so will try some of these out! Thank you for sharing 🙂 x

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Dora says:

      Thank you so much. 🙂

      Oh yay, that’s awesome! If you ‘document’ the outfits and decide to post them, be sure to tag me – I’d love to see them! 😀

      xx

      Like

  2. Nelo says:

    I loved how you used bold colors, I personally like the color tones you chose. Bright colors are not so nice on me 🙂 P.S. I love H&M one of my favorite stores! Keep doing your thing ❤
    http://www.fashionwithnelo.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Thank you so much for the comment! 🙂
      I’m so glad you liked it! 😀

      I know, it’s such a great store! I love it to bits. 😀

      Thank you, love, right back at you! 🙂

      xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

