Friends Who Get Offended Easily and Clingy Friends

Hello everyone!

So, today, I’d just like to talk about something that has been bothering me a lot recently and that is:

A Rant About Friends Who Get Offended Easily and Clingy Friends

– friends who get offended easily and clingy friends. –

I have two groups of ‘best friends’ – one from my current and one from my previous school – and the ones from my older school I’ve known for 10 years (or more). With them, I’m used to being able to say whatever I feel like saying – and I have a friend there whom I can callΒ all the terrible names you probably wouldn’t like to be called (and she does it to me too). (eg. idiot, jerk, *censure here*, all the farm animals you can think of, etc.) We basically bully each other, but we do it with love. hahaha! I’ve known her for such a long time that she’s become like a sister to me and so, naturally, she doesn’t get offended when I say something like that. It’s become an ‘inside joke’ of a sort.

The other group I’ve known for around 3 years but have been hanging out about 2 (years). At first I was well aware that I can’t act the same way around them as I do with my older friends, but as time passed I got a bit more comfortable and started ‘gently bullying’ them. (not really, it’s a joke and they know it) It’s just my way of expressing fondness and comfort – the more I bully you, the more I like you. (there are a few exceptions to this)

A Rant About Friends Who Get Offended Easily

The girl I’m closest to in the group (because she is in almost all of my classes, so I see her a lot) is a very (very!!) clingy, emotional person and whenever I throw a little sarcastic comment, she gets kinda blue, sighs and says ‘Nobody loves me…’ or something like that. Not true, of course. She is very (sometimes overly) positive, though.

So, as I was saying, the clinger always gets offended and doesn’t get sarcasm.Β Then, when I say ‘Tell me if it’s bothering you, I’ll stop’ Β she replies with a ‘No, no, that’s okay… No one loves me..’ And it drives me mad. I mean, if it really bothers you, say it, sunshine.

Another thing – masochism. She does that. A lot. I mean, seriously, she lets everybody take advantage of her. And it breaks my heart because after she’s out of school and in the ‘real world’, people will crush her!

I don’t know which language to use to explain to her that if she keeps acting like a clinger, people will keep taking advantage of her and ‘use’ her for their own good. Imagine if these things were done to her by a person that doesn’t give two… poops… about her? She needs to learn to a) defend herself, b) speak her mind and actually have an oppinion (because that’s another thing she’s lacking) and c) stop being so clingy! It’s for her own good!

A Rant About Clingy Friends

We’re basically trying to make her stronger because when we all separate, leave schools, she’ll get crushed by the real world.

I don’t know, I just had that on my mind and had to write it down. If she’s somehow, by any chance reading this, get your ish together, girlfriend!

A Rant About Friends Who Get Offended Easily (2)


And that’s it for this post. πŸ™‚ I hope you enjoyed or were able to relate in a way…

Do you have a clingy friend or are you maybe that emotional friend?

And what are your thoughts on my story?

Tell me in the comments, I’d love to know if I’m being to harsh, do I need to just back down a bit because it’s hopeless or do I keep trying to tell her that. πŸ™‚

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon. πŸ˜€

Bye,

~ Dora

xx

11 Comments Add yours

  1. It sounds to me like she’s seeking attention that she might not be getting at home. I would try to stop with the names or put downs (even though you may only be sarcastic some people are just naturally more offended) and in return she’ll stop with the whole “no body loves me” thing. Be sure to include her in things and show her how to be a stronger person without making her feel bad about herself. Be nice about it. There’s no need for an intervention by any means, just uhf a situation comes up be like “hey, maybe next tinge just tell them… Blah blah blah…” depending on the circumstance. Let her know it’s ok to say no.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Hey πŸ™‚
      Thanks so much for the comment!
      It means a lot.
      Yeah, you’re probably right… I’ll keep all the ‘insults’ for the ‘friends-who-I’ve-known-for-10-years’ clique.
      We’ve all tried to let her know that it’s okay, but she just kinda… doesn’t listen? I mean, she wants to, she really does, but I guess she feels bad about turning people down. Even though sometimes she needs to do that.
      I swear this entire post makes me sound like the biggest… jerk, to put it nicely, oh gosh. I really don’t mean any harm…
      Anyways, thanks so much for the advice. πŸ™‚

      xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a friend who just gets upset about everything..I feel like it’s just attention seeking!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      I know… yeah, you’re probably right!

      xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. tatumwrites says:

    I think we all have our own kinds of quirkiness in our character and I guess saying “nobody loves me” is her quirk. She probably doesn’t really mean it and says it to act cute? I’m not too sure, but don’t worry too much, everyone learns from experience as we grow up. I hope she doesn’t get upset when she reads this because she may think you’re comparing her to your 10 years best friend which isn’t very nice because everyone is different! XX

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Hey πŸ™‚

      First of all, thanks for the comment and the advice.
      Yeah, that’s probably true. She will learn from her mistakes, just like all of us.
      And don’t worry, I’m sure she won’t read this. But if she does, I’m not trying to offend her. That’s basically what the entire post is about… I’m in no way trying to compare her, I’m comparing myself and how I act when I’m with her and with the other friends. I really didn’t mean any harm. πŸ™‚

      xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ugh I couldn’t have put it better in words myself!

    Like

  5. anastasiias says:

    I had one friend but not “nobody likes me” but negative type in general “we can’t get good mark..we won’t pass it.. they will be unfair and bla bla bla.. i won’t manage to bla bla”. I really understand that we all have such thoughts about something in school, university, work, life..but not all the time. She had all the time!I always tried to cheer her up.. but it never helped. and once on ” i can’t do it, i won’t pass etc etc” i said “yes, you won’t” and she shut up. Yeah, may be it’s harsh and I don’t recommend to do it. But sometime speople do it just for attention and want someone to listen their complaining. About “nobody loves me” next time ask her why does she think so?someone particular doesn’t love her? and would she like everybody to love her? May be she can answer this question. Or she is upset on something on someone or not satisfied with herself or she wants someone’s attention and others to pity her. If she is to soft let her learn by herself..if you see she is doing something for someone without taking into consideration her interests tell her that she should learn to say No! and that it’s not offensive to reject. But pure lectures not based on anything won’t help. It’s like theory without practice:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Thank you so much for the advice. πŸ™‚
      I know, sometimes you have to ‘agree’ with them. I’ve actually done that – nobody loves me! – yeah, we all hate you. Emphacising ‘hate’, making sure she understands it’s sarcasm, and she just shut up. For a while.
      I agree, some people really just want attention and pitty among theirselves.
      Oh, trust me, there were so many examples about people taking advantage of her and we’ve all tried telling her that, letting her know… but, alas (that’s not how you spell it haha) that doesn’t work…
      Thank you, again for your advice. πŸ™‚

      xx

      Like

      1. anastasiias says:

        May be she will learn when people will take advantage of her and it will really complicate her life or make her feel uncomfortable in any way? You know, just stop paying attention to that..I guess it won’t help. Not cheering, not agreeing, not any advice. Let her be. If she wants cheering and advice she will come without “nobody loves me”.She doesn’t want to be helped she wants others to pity her and that she can pity herself.I don;t know how this happened to her but really it;s pity but I don’t think you can help her unless she wants it:)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Dora says:

        I know…
        It’ll all be okay in the end, though. I won’t ‘bother’ her and she’ll eventually learn. πŸ™‚

        Thanks for all the advice.

        xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

