Bourjois ‘Smoky Eyes’ Trio Eyeshadow – REVIEW

Hello everyone! 🙂

So, today, I’ll be talking about a life-changing trio, the Bourjois ‘Smoky Eyes  Eyeshadow Trio’ in the shade 02 or baroque.

Review - Bourjois Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Trio - 02 or baroque (2)

Bourjois Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Trio (02 - baroque) - package

 I’m not sure if I got this little guy for New Years (?) or afterwards, since I featured it in my Mini Drugstore Haul, but I know that I didn’t purchase it.

A Lil’ Bit of Back Story:

So, I was told by a makeup lady that olive greens work really well with brown eyes. I was kinda doubtful, since I’ve heard about vibrant greens, blues and purples, but olive greens? Really?

I started looking at olive green palettes (why would I buy just one shade?) and I found one Sephora palette as well as a L’Oreal one. I started debating which one I should get and, before I got to make my decision, I was gifted this lovely piece.

First Impressions:

I will admit that I didn’t like it the first time I used it. I thought that it was too unbalanced, it had ‘interesting’ shade choices and just overall looked weird when I first used it.

But, practice makes it perfect.

the second time I applied it, it looked okay, the third time even better and by the fourth time, I loved it. I found a way to use it and adopt it to my likings (by adding a dark brown shade) and even did a separate post about it! (Click here to check out my ‘Olive Green Smokey Eye Tutorial – step by step’)

The content of the package:

Bourjois Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Trio (02 - baroque) - inside

So, besides the eyeshadows, inside this palette is also a brush. And I’ll be honest with you, at first I didn’t use it but HOLLY CRAP, was I missing out. That brush is incredible! Especially since it comes with the package and you know how skeptical I am about those things. It has a flat brush (for the base and the darkest shade) on one side and a rolled brush (perfect for the crease) on the other. It’s really wonderful for applying the shades. (you have to use a blending brush as well)

Bourjois Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Trio - 02 or baroque (The Brush)

Bourjois Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Trio - 02 or baroque (The Brush - cillinder)

Onto the shades: there’s 3 of them, all shimmery and perfect for each other. They are really long lasting and pigmented. The color is really consistent and buildable, so for a more intense look, apply primer and blend out the edges. ( #coolmakeuptipswithdora )

Bourjois Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Trio - 02 or baroque (inside)

Bourjois Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Trio - 02 or baroque (Swatches + Packaging)

Bourjois Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Trio - 02 or baroque (Swatches)

The Lightest Shade (base shade) is a beautiful shimmery gold.

Bourjois Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Trio - 02 or baroque - The Lightest Shade - Golden Shimmery Eyeshdaow

Bourjois Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Trio - 02 or baroque - The Lightest Shade - Golden Shimmery Eyeshdaow - Swatch

The Medium Shade (crease shade) is a shimmery, I’d say metallic brown/goldish shade with a hint of olive.

Bourjois Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Trio - 02 or baroque - The Middle Shade - Brown, Olive, Gray Shimmery Eyeshdaow

Bourjois Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Trio - 02 or baroque - The Middle Shade - Brown, Olive, Gray Shimmery Eyeshdaow (Swatch)

The Darkest Shade (the one I put in the outer corner of the eye) is a (shimmery) dark olive green.

Bourjois Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Trio - 02 or baroque - The Darkest Shade - Dark Olive Green Shimmery Eyeshdaow

Bourjois Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Trio - 02 or baroque - The Darkest Shade - Dark Olive Green Shimmery Eyeshdaow - Swatch

I think these shades are beautiful, the colors compliment each other so well and are really pigmented and blendable.

However, I don’t like the suggested look:

Bourjois Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Trio (02 - baroque) - the back

I prefer doing an olive smokey eye like this:

Added Eyeliner, Mascara - finished look (looking down)

Added Eyeliner, Mascara - finished look

I did a tutorial on this look, you can check it out here. 🙂

 Overall Thoughts?

I really like this palette at the moment. I wish I was brave enough to wear it as everyday makeup, or at least during the day (sometimes), but alas… So, I’ll just keep wearing it at night!

I’d rate this palette a solid 8/10. It’s really really good, but I just think the color theme is a bit odd. That is just a personal preference, so if this, more fall-ish toned color choice, is what you’re into, you’d love this palette!

Bourjois Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Trio - 02 or baroque (packaging, 2)

If you’re interested in purchasing it, I gotcha! Just click the store name you’d prefer.

Boots

Amazon (Temporarily Out Of Stock)

Priceline

Be sure to find Bourjois on the Interwebs:

Their Twitter: @Bourjois_UK

Their Website: bourjois.co.uk


And that’s it! 🙂

I hope you enjoyed this little review. I haven’t done one of these in a while and man, it feels good!

What is your favorite Bourjois product?

Let me know in the comments. 🙂

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon!

Bye,

~ Dora.

xx

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Very in depth and wonderful review girly! I have never tried ‘Smoky Eyes’ as a brand but I love the look you have created and will most definitely be looking into it!

    Xo. http://www.sonamnaiducreative.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Thank you so much! 🙂
      Glad you enjoyed it!

      😀
      xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have never checked out anything from bourjois, Looks like maybeI should.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Yeah, you should totally give it a go, see if you like it. 🙂
      xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mua isn’t here I’m in Canada . Not that I know of anywayb

        Like

  3. kershiaperumal says:

    Love love love Bourjois eyeshadows! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Yay! 😀
      They are great! 🙂

      xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. kershiaperumal says:

        Yeah perfect for a smokey eye and super pigmented! 😀 I have this gorgeous plum eyeshadow with specks of glitter in it. Can’t remember the shade number but it’s so gorg!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Dora says:

        I know! They are incredible. 😀

        Oh, lovely! I just love the trios, the colors are so well-balanced.
        Love them. 🙂

        xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

