Everything You Need For A Less-Miserable Sick Day

Hello everyone! 🙂

First of all, Happy Easter!! I hope you have a wonderful day! 🙂

So, one of the reasons why there haven’t been that many posts recently is because I was sick. 😦 a few weeks ago, I had so much work, with daily rehearsals for this big show we had. The last few rehearsals got crazy – instead of a sound check, we had “waiting for 5 hours and listening to the other acts practise on the stage”. Fun, right? Wrong. The entire thing just got to me and on Monday’s rehearsal (a few hours before the show) I started feeling a bit weird. I got my hair and makeup done afterwards, and by the time I got back to the venue, my head was aching and I was sweating, then being cold and shivering, then sweating again… Needless to say that I felt like I was going to faint, and I had to wear high heals! Thankfully, I pulled through it, not showing I felt sick. (and not passing out) The only thing that was visible was that my eyes were getting really red, so I’d get a lot of ‘Oh wow, you look tired, you probably didn’t sleep’ comments…
The moment I got to my house, I took my makeup off and passed out in my bed. I didn’t get that much sleep, but I did think of this blog post idea. 😀
Although, I have to apologise because I didn’t take any photos of my hair, makeup, OOTNs… nothing… I’m a horrible blogger! 😦

Anyways, let’s just get into this post. Here are my sick day essentials:

1) Tissues (Starting with the obvious one.)

So, I know this is super obvious, but I just really wanted to share this adorable tissue pack. How cute is this?? It’s a 3D, pop-up sheep! I just love it! It does say it’s for kids, though, but hey – if I can still fit in the 11-12 section of Zara kids, I can get kids’ tissues. It’s too freaking adorable to not get. Waking up is so much better when you go to grab a tissue and you see this little guy staring back at you. :3 (it’s also kinda creepy sometimes, not gonna lie)

Zewa Kids - Sheep

Zewa Kids

 2) A Hot Tea

This one is pretty obvious, too. Here’s a fact for ya: I rarely drink tea. When I was younger, I’d only drink it when I was sick. I didn’t like tea at all. I’m still not a huge fan, but I can bear it. When I’m sick, I usually drink that have a purpose, example: a tea for colds and fevers, a tea for bronchitis, for cough etc. Most of these taste horrid, though, but that could be because I don’t put anything inside – no lemon or honey or sugar… nothing. Also, the fact that I’m not a huge tea person might have something to do with it too….

dennree Guten Morgen Tea

dennree Guten Morgen Tea - the tea bags

Peppermint Tea - dennree Guten Morgen Tea

Peppermint Tea - dennree Guten Morgen Tea (favorite tea)

3) Entertainment (a.k.a. mostly the Internet)

One of the most important things, to me. The time I’m sick is the time I catch up on movies and start watching new TV shows. This time, I started watching Once Upon A Time and I really like it! I think it’s such an interesting idea for a show and I’ve seen some Cruella & Ursula clips from the 4th season which got me so excited! I watch everything on Popcorn Time and I love it so much. The best part is – it’s free! Be sure to check it out here. ( * you’re welcome. 😉 * ) You can, obviously, use Netflix or the TV (hahaha, good one, who even watches TV anymore?) or another site you know, but I really love Popcorn Time.

Also, another way of entertainment is just listening to music or simply texting your friends OR join the wonderful world of reading – books, blogs… Anything! 😀

What To Do When You're Sick - Social Media

Popcorn Time

Popcorn Time - Movies

Popcorn Time - TV Series

Popcorn Time - Once Upon A Time

4) Nose Rinse Pot

This thing. Oh, how do I begin to describe this beautiful thing. This weird looking thing saved my life. Let me paint you a picture: you’re sick and can’t breathe. It’s frustrating, your nose is stuffy and you have to breathe through your mouth and now your mouth is dry and your lips are chapped and your throat starts hurting and it’s just a disaster. With this? It’s all gone. Basically, you pour warm water mixed with sea salt into this pot and – get this – you tilt your head a bit, placing it in your nostril. You suddenly feel weird, your eyes are watering, but in a few seconds, the water appears in your other nostril, leaking. You repeat that a few times, than change the nostril and when you’re done, blow out your nose and voila! It’s not a pleasant feeling, but after it’s all done, you feel like you can breathe again! The feeling afterwards is incredible. Check it out here.

(and here‘s a YouTube video to show you how to do it)

Nose Rinsing Pot - Neti Pot (side)

Nose Rinsing Pot - Neti Pot (up)

Nose Rinsing Pot - Neti Pot

5) Comfy bed, pillows and blankets

Okay, so the last thing you want when you’re sick is to be uncomfortable, right? So, grab that blanket and a pillow and milk the sick time to the max. If you’re super stressed, I (obviously) suggest sleeping as much as you can and then watching Netflix, because trust me that after you go back to school/work you will say to yourself: ‘Man, I wish I slept for like 2 more days instead of binge watching OUAT…’ (what, I don’t speak from personal experience, no..)

Comfortable Bed - Tumblr
I wish I had a room like this… Oh Tumblr…

Comfortable Bed - Tumblr (2)

 6) Skincare products

I tend to wash my face more when I’m sick. I noticed I feel better with a clean face, I have no clue why, it’s all psychological thing, I guess. But yeah, I’d wash my face using my trusty Tee Tree Oil Facial Wash by TBS and I think it’s perfect for those sick days when you’re oily and feeling gross. After that, I use this new cleansing tonic I got by Natura Siberica, which is amazing, and then just apply moisturizer (an Italian brand – ESI) on my nose, because that’s the part that gets damaged the most. (I mean, I blow my nose like crazy, honestly, the poor thing suffers so much)

The Body Shop - Tea Tree Skin Clearing Facial Wash

Natura Siberica Cleansing Toner

ESI Aloe Vera Gel

ESI Aloe Vera Gel, TBS Tea Tree Skin Clearing Facial Wash, Natura Siberica Cleansing Tonic - Skincare Products

7) Food

Okay, okay, another obvious one, but what kinds of foods? Well, I love hot soups and sweets. The soups just make you feel really warm and the sweets are a pick-me-up, since your blood sugar will probably drop and you’d feel weak. Also, I love freshly squeezed juice. I have this machine for it and it’s just wonderful – both healthy and delicious. 🙂

Also, here’s a tip for ya: if you have a stomach ache, drink a bit of Coke, it helps. (I’m not kidding, it’s a real thing!)

Delicious Hot Soup
Here’s a photo of a delicious soup. 🙂
Freshly Squeezed Orange Juice
… and here’s a photo from Tumbl of a freshly squeezed orange juice! 😀

And that’s all you need for a less miserable sick day! I hope you enjoyed this post and if you’re feeling sick, I hope you get well soon.

What are some of your sick day essentials? Comment below and let me know. 😀

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you again soon!

Bye,

~ Dora

x

Leave a Reply

