Natural Smokey Eye Makeup Tutorial

Hello everyone 🙂

I’d like to start off by saying: Thank you so much for the support on my previous posts, it really means a lot. 🙂

Onto today’s post: it’s going to be a special one. I’d like to do a makeup tutorial! I’ve never done one of these, I just didn’t have the confidence to post the photos. (and didn’t want to just write it… In my opinion, it’s always better to add photos so the readers can visualize the look you were creating)  I decided to start by doing an eye look, as it doesn’t require a whole lot of my face to be photographed. (baby steps)

Also, I just want to apologize for the quality of photos. They are not the best… at all. I’m kinda new to this whole thing and am still trying to figure it out so bare with me haha. (also, my eyebrow(s) look(s) crazy in the photos) But it will get better. 🙂

The look that I will be creating is a natural smokey eye look. This is something that I’d wear during the day, whenever I need to be a bit more classy and dressed up than the no-makeup makeup look. (that I’d normally wear) I used shades from the Naked Basics and Too Faced Matte Eye palettes. (it just so happens that both of them are matte) Let’s begin!


So the first thing I did is prime my eyes. Now, since I don’t have a real eye shadow primer at the moment, I’m using NYX concealer. It works like a primer, helps the eye shadow stay on for longer periods of time.

Next, I apply a light shade – a beige – to the entire lid and under the brow. (for highlight) I’m using the shade W.O.S. from the Naked Basics palette. I used a fluffier brush  because I found it works better for me. (you could, of course, use whatever you like)

Naked Basics - W.O.S.
Naked Basics – W.O.S.
Naked Basics - W.O.S.
Naked Basics – W.O.S.

Naked Basics - W.O.S.

After that, I took a darker, more brown toned beige (Naked 2 from Naked Basics) and, using a flat brush, add it to the outer half of the lid. This will be the ‘blending’ shade, afterwards.

Naked Basics - Naked 2
Naked Basics – Naked 2
Naked Basics - Naked 2
Naked Basics – Naked 2
Naked Basics - Naked 2
Naked Basics – Naked 2

Next, I took a light, chocolate brown (Faint from Naked Basics or Chinchilla from Too Faced Matte Eye) and applied it to the crease and the outer corner. I blended that in with the last shade.

Naked Basics - Faint
Naked Basics – Faint
Naked Basics - Faint
Naked Basics – Faint
Naked Basics - Faint
Naked Basics – Faint

The last shade is a dark brown (Coffee Bean from Too Faced Matte Eye) which I applied using an angled brush. I started at the outer corner and slowly moved in towards the middle of the crease and, afterwards, down towards the lashes. (creating a triangle or a mini cat eye) I filled in that ‘triangle’ and blended it with the previous shades.

Too Faced Matte Eye - Coffee Bean
Too Faced Matte Eye – Coffee Bean
Too Faced Matte Eye - Coffee Bean
Too Faced Matte Eye – Coffee Bean
Too Faced Matte Eye - Coffee Bean
Too Faced Matte Eye – Coffee Bean

I applied some eyeliner (Too Faced Perfect Eyes Waterproof Eyeliner) and mascara. (Maybelline One By One) I decided not to go for the winged liner, but it would look good. (Considering it looks good with everything) And voila!

Natural Smokey Eye - full look
Natural Smokey Eye – full look
Natural Smokey Eye - full look
Natural Smokey Eye – full look
Too Faced Perfect Eyes Waterproof Eyeliner
Too Faced Perfect Eyes Waterproof Eyeliner
Maybelline One By One Mascara
Maybelline One By One Mascara

Done!


I hope you enjoyed this type of post. Let me know your thoughts by writing a comment and also, I’m curious: what is your ultimate go-to everyday makeup look?

Thank you so much for reading!

See ya soon. 🙂

Bye,

~ Dora


** all the photos have been taken by me **

9 Comments Add yours

  1. SylviaG says:

    Love this look! My ultimate go to makeup look is probably just a simple cat-eye or a pink smokey-eye using my Naked 1 Palette. Check out my video on how I do my cat-eye! Love this post, great structure and I like the step by step guide. keep em coming.. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Hey 😀

      I’m glad you liked this look.
      Oooh, the Naked 1 palette is so gorgeous! I will definitely check out your video. 🙂
      I am so glad someone actually likes this post. (I’ve been really on edge because it’s not something I usually do and so it was pretty nerve wrecking hitting that ‘publish’ button haha) 🙂
      Thank you so much for reading!

      xx

      Like

  2. Very cute tutorial. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Thanks! I’m so glad you liked it. 😀

      xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. pretty! love a natural look

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Thank you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jacie says:

    You did really good. Pursue a makeup artist career. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Oh, thank you so much! 😀

      I’m so glad you liked it!

      Have a lovely day. 🙂

      xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

