REVIEW: Too Faced Matte Eye Palette

Hello everyone! 🙂 Today, I’m doing a little review on the Too Faced Matte Eye Palette. I’ve noticed that everyone has recently been obsessing over their Chocolate Bar Palette (which does seem pretty great, to be honest) but this palette gets barely any recognition, which I’d like to change! (basically, it deserves so much more attention because it truly is amazing)

I bought this palette in Spain. It was a part of the Too Faced ‘Bonjour Beautiful’ set. (which also includes the Too Faced Perfect Eyes Waterproof Eyeliner & the Bonjur Beautiful Lip Palette) It was around 35€ in Sephora.

I didn’t really have a particular reason for getting this palette, because, like I said before, I’ve never heard anyone praising it too much. I honestly bought the set because a) I needed a new eyeliner (and their’s I’ve heard of before, so I knew it was good), b) I loved the concept of ‘matte’ eye shadows (I’ve never had any matte eye shadows before and I was aching for some… so, I just got a palette of nine! 😀 – logic) and the palette looked really pretty, and c) which was, to be honest, probably the deciding factor – it was for a good price. But, I got it and as soon as I used it I, I fell in love. I didn’t want to wear anything else and was so happy with my purchase.


So, the shadows are located inside a very pretty case: it’s a gray/dusty rose color scheme with some lace details/a vintage frame. One of the looks (Day) is showcased in the center.

20150209_140743

On the back, there is a little creator’s note. It opens by lifting the lid. (using the maroon strap)

20150209_140626

The creator's message.
The creator’s message.

Inside, you can find 9 matte eye shadows, divided into 3  ‘smokey eye looks’: Day, Classic and Fashion, as well as 3 ‘tutorial cards’, giving a mini tutorial of each look. (in English and in French)

20150209_143440

20150209_141008

Day consists 3 shades for a natural smokey eye:

First up is Tufted Suede – which is the most amazing natural/skin toned shade ever. I use it under the brow bone, just as a base, overall. (I sometimes even put it under my eyes, or over my concealer… it’s just a beautiful skin toned shade) Next, we have Chinchilla – a brown shade, really blends well, I use it all over my lid. Lastly, we have Coffee Bean (a dark brown, perfect for the crease and the outer corner. It blends really well with the previous two shades, creating a beautiful, natural, smokey eye look.

Here’s some swatches:

20150209_141813

And here is the card with the tutorial that comes with the palette:

20150209_141039

Classic is a bit darker and bolder. I feel as though it would be great for a night out or a special occasion because it just looks really classy.

So, for the base, they selected Velveteen Bunny – a regular white shade. It is a great base, considering this look is completely based on cold tones. Also, I don’t see many regular, matte white shades, so that is a plus as well. The middle shade is Pebbles, which is just a plain gray shade, but it can be used in so many looks, as it’s quite neutral. The last shade is London Fog which is a midnight blue shade. I love this shade so much, it’s just such a beautiful color. I use this mostly on the outer corner and the crease, but it can also be used to line the upper/lower lash line.

Swatches:

20150209_143507

Here’s the card with the tutorial for this look from the palette:

20150209_141046

Fashion is the last look featured in this palette. It’s a really soft and girly look, I’d say, and perfect for Valentine’s Day. 😀 (If you still haven’t decided what makeup you’ll be wearing then, here’s another look to consider)

The base shade is called Fresh Linen and it’s a baby pink shade. It is so pretty and I think if you just slapped it on the lid/under the brow with a darker shade in the outer corner (and some liquid liner and mascara) and BOOM! You’ve got a pretty and simple look. The second shade is Vintage Violet – a gorgeous violet/lighter lavender color. The darkest shade in the bunch is Midnight, which is a darker gray (comparing to ‘Pebbles’) and, because gray is a neutral color, it just blends well with a lot of things. I used this shade as a transition between Pebbles and London Fog as well and it looked really nice.

I’m going to be honest here and say that I haven’t really used the Fashion look as a whole that much. It looks good, but I just didn’t have the opportunity.

Here’s some swatches:

20150209_144944

… and the tutorial card for this look:

20150209_141027


~ PROS: very pigmented, nice shade selection, matte, good combo/look ideas (if going for an everyday look: Day; for a night out: Classic; special occasions: Fashion)

~ CONS: It’s not really a con, but I wish the palette had a mirror, otherwise I couldn’t find anything that I didn’t like about this palette (NOTE: there probably is a few things wrong with it, but I was really satisfied with it)


Overall, I love this palette and would definitely recommend it. However, I don’t think I will be repurchasing it. (‘Wow, really? After this entire Too Faced praising session you just had? Disappointing.’) Now, now, let me explain myself. I won’t be repurchasing it because there is so much product that, by the time I use it all up, I will most likely hate matte eye shadows and ache for something different. Otherwise, I do recommend this palette.


Aaand that’s all. 🙂 I hope you enjoyed this little review and that it maybe made you want to get this extremely underrated palette.

If you’d like to check this palette out, click here.

Have you tried this palette before? What were your thoughts? Share them in the comment section. 😀

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon.

Bye,

~ Dora

x


* all the photos were taken by me; this is not a sponsored post; k, thanks 🙂 *

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Fashion is beautiful!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. odafagerland says:

    Wouldn’t mind having a set on my own! Love the colors 🙂

    Like

    1. ohsodora says:

      Yeah, it’s so beautiful. 🙂

      Like

  3. Love the colors! haven’t heard about this make up brand yet but I’ll write it down and look for it now in stores here!

    xo naomiinwonderland.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora says:

      Hey 🙂

      Glad you liked it.
      Their items are sold in Sephoras (that I know of), so you could go there and check it out if you have one of those nearby.

      xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

