Lesson Learned from 2014.

Hello there! šŸ™‚ Today is the last day of 2014. and I can’t believe it! This has been one very, um, interesting year. A lot has happened and I’d like to share some things that I’ve learned in the past 365 days.

1) Not everything will always go the way you want it, but it does get better.

The #1 thing I’ve learned was this. Even if you’re having the worst day of your life, thinking it will never be better – it will. Maybe you’re reading this now while in that state but listen to me – it. will. get. better. I know it doesn’t help much hearing this from me, a random stranger on the internet, or, as a matter of fact, anyone else, but I believe in you. Whatever it is you’re upset about will change. Life isn’t one straight line: it isn’t always good, but it’s not always bad either. And even knowing all of this probably won’t help you… I’ve been in that spotĀ multiple times this year and I know how it feels (terrible…), but I have survived it and it is better. What’s important is to find something that makes you happy and makes you forget all your problems. (that can be any activity: watching TV, movies, YouTube, writing a blog ( šŸ˜‰ ), walking, exercising, playing an instrument, painting… anything) I can’t say that my life is perfect right now, no, it’s far from that, but at least I’m happy and so will you be. šŸ™‚

2) People are a-holes. (keeping this PG haha)

I came across some really big a-holes this year, more than ever before. I’m not going to write a giant rant about this, don’t worry. But this relates to the previous ‘lesson’. When you teach yourself to ignore the a-holes, become a-hole-proof, things start to get better.

3) Surround yourself with positive people

I personally didn’t follow this rule because I was usually theĀ positive one (hypocrite!!), but emphasize the word ‘usually’. As happy and positive as I am (inside), I had my mental break downs too. The thing is, I made a mistake of being around people who are in the similar state. When I realized that they are ’emotionally unstable’, I stopped expressing my feelings, kept most of them inside. (because I knew that they were going through a lot and I didn’t want to be the extra baggage) That is probably the thing that destroyed me the most. (so, you could say thatĀ it was all my fault… oops)

4) A small thing, such as starting a blog, could help you. Ā šŸ˜‰

Yup, here we go. So, I always loved writing. When I was 10 I wrote a book (fiction) and ever since I’ve wanted to be an author. (but quickly realized that is very unlikely to happen) One day, I was bored and decided to start up a blog. A little personal place for me to write whatever I want, express my thoughts etc.. I quickly realized that a blog needs a lot of time, which I was short on. (because of busy schedulesĀ in school) I don’t have an absurdĀ amount of followers, likes, comments, views, none of that, so why would I care? Even if I shut it down, it’s not like I’d lose anything much, right? Wrong. Every single notification I got, every single person that followed me, liked a post of mine or left a comment, I appreciateĀ so much. The amount of happiness I felt whenever I’d see a new notification is unexplainable… So, thank you to every single person that has read/liked/followed me/commented on something on my blog. It truly means so much to me. Thank you ā¤

Also, reading blogs can be such an awesome way to forget your worries. šŸ˜€ Some of my favorite blogs to read have been Confetti And Curves, Doves And Roses, Amber Unglamor.. There is so many more, these are just the ones I thought of from the top of my head.

(love ya guys & your blogs so much!)


Aaand I’ve been babbling for too long right now. (as usual hahaha)Ā There are other things I’ve learnt (of course) that I haven’t mentioned here, but this is ‘theĀ gist of it’. šŸ™‚

Thank you so much for reading. šŸ™‚

See ya soon!

~ Dora

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

